[Skip to Content]

ASME is proud to announce that the judging of the 2020 National Magazine Awards, ASME Award for Fiction and ASME NEXT Awards will be led by these distinguished journalists and educators:

  • Amy DuBois Barnett, Senior Vice President and General Manager, BET Digital
  • Joe Brown, Editor in Chief, Popular Science
  • Maile Carpenter, Editor in Chief, Food Network Magazine and The Pioneer Woman Magazine
  • Jonathan Dorn, Founder and Managing Director, NatuRX
  • Sid Evans, Editor in Chief, Southern Living and Coastal Living
  • Jeffrey Goldberg, Editor in Chief, The Atlantic
  • Ben Goldberger, Executive Editor, TIME
  • David Granger, Agent, Aevitas Creative Management
  • Anna Holmes, Writer and Editor
  • Adi Ignatius, Editor in Chief, Harvard Business Review Group
  • Clara Jeffery, Editor in Chief, Mother Jones
  • Radhika Jones, Editor in Chief, Vanity Fair
  • Christopher Keyes, Vice President and Editor, Outside
  • Amanda Kludt, Senior Vice President, Eater and Curbed, and Editor in Chief, Eater
  • Cindi Leive, Senior Fellow, USC Annenberg Center on Communication Leadership and Policy
  • Alison Overholt, Vice President, Storytelling and Special Projects, ESPN
  • Paul Reyes, Editor, Virginia Quarterly Review
  • Brooke Siegel, Vice President, Content, Hearst Magazines
  • Debra Adams Simmons, Executive Editor, Culture, National Geographic
  • Sally Singer, Creative Director, Vogue
  • Susan Spencer, Editor in Chief, Woman’s Day
  • Nicholas Thompson, Editor in Chief, WIRED
  • Duy Linh Tu, Professor of Journalism, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, and Founder, Resolution Seven
  • Julia Turner, Deputy Managing Editor, Arts and Entertainment, Los Angeles Times
  • Liz Vaccariello, Editor in Chief, Parents
  • Charles Whitaker, Dean, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University

This year more than 300 journalists and educators will participate in the judging. To preserve the confidentiality of the judging, a complete list of the judges will not be posted until the presentation of the 55th-annual Ellie Awards on Thursday, March 12, 2020. To see a list of last year’s judges, please visit ellies2019.org.