[Skip to Content]

The Ellie Awards honor print and digital publications that consistently demonstrate
superior execution of editorial objectives, innovative techniques, noteworthy
enterprise and imaginative design.
Originally limited to print magazines, the awards now
recognize magazine-quality journalism published in any medium. Founded in 1966, the
awards are sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors in association with
the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and are administered by ASME.

Finalists and winners will be honored at the annual presentation of the Ellie Awards
at Brooklyn Steel in Williamsburg
from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 14, 2019.
Finalists in each of the 22 Ellie Award categories will receive certificates of recognition.
The winner in each category will receive an “Ellie,” modeled on the symbol of the
awards, Alexander Calder’s stabile “Elephant.” The winners of the ASME Award for
Fiction and ASME Next Awards for Journalists Under 30 will also be honored.

Among the notable changes for 2019 are the introduction of an award for podcasting
and the addition of new website and video categories based on editorial mission;
the reorganization of Design and Photography into categories also based on editorial
mission; and the discontinuation due to declining participation of the Magazine Section
category (content formerly eligible in Magazine Section may now be entered in
Personal Service, Leisure Interests and Columns and Commentary). The category
descriptions for Single-Topic Issue, Social Media and Columns and Commentary have
also been significantly revised to honor a broader range of work. Finally, ASME
members are now entitled to submit three entries in any category in which the
previous limit was two.

Download the Call for Entries | Submit an Entry